Mundane

I always promise to blog more regularly, then I fail to fulfil my promises haha. Need to be a (wo)man of my word.

Monday

I started my day at the gym! I usually just run for half an hour and stretch a bit while watching That 70s show which shows from 830-930. And although it takes me years to get out of bed, I feel much more alive and awake going for lessons after the gym. Also need to keep fit and not get fat or I will be a blob when I get home. Classes as usual, then went to the dining hall for lunch. I only have 10 meal swipes a week so my classmate swiped me in yay blessed 🙂  Hit the library after, and spent some time procrastinating and made more posters for vege girl.

Same verse but which one do you prefer?

Image

Image

Ok and besides the posters I did my Art History Visual Analysis paper. Part one of a two part essay where we scrutinize a photograph and then do a research paper on it. We all get a different picture, and although there was another photo that I really liked a lot more than the one I chose eventually, I let the other girl take it because she seemed so passionate about it.

Image

This is Paul Strand’s The Family, Luzzura on a gelatin silver print. I wrote a 750 word close analysis on this photo so if you’re interested I can let you read it. HAHAHA who will want to read it except my teacher plz. Dinnered with the gang and then hit the study room. Please don’t get the impression that I study a lot, I actually spend a lot of time reading my textbooks or actually more of reading stuff online and wasting time. I also remember that it was pretty cold on Monday (I am tropical girl who lives in temperatures of 80 fahrenheit all year along plz give chance), I put on an extra layer before the library because the wind was biting cold. And then I ask myself why I signed up for Cleveland instead of somewhere like NY or further down south where it’s not this cold haha. Skyped S while she sat along the AS1 walkway back home in school and we both silent skyped and typed while smiling at each other hahahahah.

Image

Skyped DJ churning in Sydney later at night, and am always thankful for friends like her. We always end our skype convos praying for each other but I fell asleep while she was talking to me (or more like I talked and she whispered and typed cos she was in the library hahaha) so I just slept at 2ish.

Image

Tuesday

Too tired for gym, just classes and then cup noodles for lunch. Gave my presentation on women’s rights in French Rev class and then dinnered. I think the lack of pressure and stress from the fact that this is pass/fail really allows me to ‘float’ in class haha. I mean I still keep up with all my work and besides that C+ essay (which I can rewrite if I want to), I’ve been doing ok. And although most of my classes are nearing the ends of textbooks, I’m still not on the ball with them. But I know what’s happening in class. Overall thankful for exchange la 🙂 not dying and depressed like back home haha.

Also, thank you jpuff for the seafood cup noodles. All this MSG will make my hair drop one day but I love instant noodles.

Image

Study room again after, and I don’t remember doing much except reading a chapter hahaha. Took a break at 9 to watch New Girl and tried to read more but FLOP.

Image

Skyped hd for what was supposed to an hour at 10ish and ended up talking for 3 hours. ❤

Image

Wednesday

Gymmed as usual and my classmate G swiped me into Leutner again… And during lunch we talking about things like music we all like (Jason Mraz) and why we like being here on exchange (a whole new life and the chance to ‘restart’ college again where nobody knows you and you have nothing to lose no matter what you do) and after staring out at the leaves flying off in the wind for awhile, we went out to play in them.

Fall photoshoot photos coming up, somebody pay me for the 130 photos we took in that 1 hour hahaha. It was fun though 🙂 And also an excellent spontaneous decision because the next two days was just rainy and wet and the leaves scrunged up and are starting to rot.

ImageImageImageImageImage

Image

Image

Went for small group and had a really good discussion about Luke 7:36-50 with M J and B. Small group is much more comfortable when we break it down and talk in smaller groups. 🙂 Study room (as usual) after and I did my women’s rights essay due the next day, just had to compile all my research for the presentation into an essay. Ordered food from Denny’s too, had Mozz cheesesticks (L was sitting in the corner so she didn’t make it to the photo haha) and slept at 2.

Image

Thursday

I know my eyes look crossed here hahaha but I finally found out on Wednesday who sent me the mystery shirt!! THANK YOU B this was truly a surprise. Wore the shirt on Thursday hehe. Classes and was SUPER sleepy throughout the lessons, but I survived thank you God.

Image

Slower week but still things to do around campus. Met H at Barnes and Noble after class to get a new umbrella because mine can’t close no more (mama the cheap pink one you bought from China) and I need to protect myself from the rains here. Went for a speed networking thing at the Museum at Contemporary Art and most of us exchange students just went for the free food and free tour around MOCA). Nice cheeses and desserts but no proper food. We had to suit up too and I just threw on a dress and ran out in the rain.

Image

Talked to some nice people, but overall it wasn’t really useful.. especially after you tell people you’re here as an exchange student and they know you’re not going to be here much longer. Can’t be helped I guess but we had our own fun. O and I got a name card too!! From this random guy who never finished his conversation with us and offered his card and a cup of coffee anytime so we can really going to call him up heheheh 😉

Image

Went back and vacuumed my room (finally) and hung out with K for awhile. Made the tauhuay mama sent over for my birthday hehe 🙂  Waited for O to get back and we joined the Brazilians and Italian at Spot night for $1 beers and live music. We were just quite happy (or high) and ate the unlimited free nuggets hahaha and had our own fun. I stuck to just one bottle of beer (woohoo discipline) and went back home at 1230. Also, my face is super unglam in this photo 😦

Image

K O and E waited for me while I skyped Z in Sydney, here he thinks his messy hair is nice….

Image

We started the movie at almost 2, and I think we watched Dracula? None of us lasted more than 10 minutes and I crawled into my own bed at 245?

Friday

Nothing spectacular (as usual) but we went to get Butterbeer after lunch!! Not really butterbeer but I saw this post online and we all decided to try it at Starbucks. The barista was really nice and made it for us oh yeah. The magic I think, is in the fact that there’s an aftertaste of butter, when they don’t put butter in hahahaha.

Image

Image

Touched up on my Visual Analysis paper based on the comments from my TA and then submitted it. Early dinner with O and J and met B to share about life/testimonies/hang out before large group. 🙂 Large group teaching on using our passions for God and watched Shawshank Redemption at the Hangout Suite after. Slept at 1.30 (earliest time I’ve slept this week I think hahaha)

Image

Saturday

And got a call from J at 930 to come over to sleep because H had visitors over and they were sleeping in his bed hahaha. I got up to skype home and mostly talked to baby brother bear and Paps. Then joined H in the study room to skype Y.

ImageImage

Haven’t done much today except eat skype blog and listen to Chinese songs hehe. Update Slow Saturday, study roomed with L H and S till dinner. Went to Thwing for a Taiwanese Night Market for $5, organized by the Taiwanese American student group. Kung pao chicken, fried chicken, milk tea with bubbles and other Chinese-ish goods. It felt more like Chinese food take out to be honest (s-poo this is you). Sneaked downstairs to get Naan and butter chicken at some Pakistan student thing. Joined the Brazilians + 2 Italians and 1 Spanish dinner and they cooked Straganoff. Left for a bit for L’s birthday surprise with KIV at the hangout suite and J S and J just kept laughing at me 😡 haha. Bounced back to the international thing and we danced for a bit, got too tired and sang songs instead haha. Hung with O and J and going to knock out soon.

Thank God for a slow week and not really doing much hehe 🙂 I wanted to travel to Buffalo this weekend since some people are travelling, but I think for all I’ve spent and the fact that I never will get this American college life experience again, staying in on a boring Cleveland won’t hurt. Plus the fact that most of us exchange people are going to here 6 more weeks has hit home hard for some of us. So we’re having a dinner tonight and heading downtown again tomorrow. The reality of having to go home is not fun 😦 Have to plan mods to prepare Module Preference Exercise but thank you God for friends who keep me updated and are going to help me bid hehe. Nice to know you’re not forgotten. Thank you God also that this place is really beginning to feel like home.. Thank God also for friends here and back home, who make time to talk to me/skype me at crazy hours. 🙂 Now who wants to send me some mail? hehehe.

G, out.

Leave a comment